The International Esports Federation (IESF) World Championship is an annual event where national teams from across the globe compete to determine who has the best players.

This year’s IeSF World Championship will be held in Busan, South Korea from the 8th-12th of November 2017. With last year’s World Championship taking place in Jakarta, Indonesia seeing 249 players participate, it is anticipated that over 300 players will gather in Busan to compete across the three official titles.


2017 IESF | CS:GO Qualifier

2017 IESF | League of Legends Qualifier

2017 IESF | Tekken 7 Qualifier

Background & History

The International eSports Federation (IeSF) holds an annual World Championship featuring over 35 countries who each send a national team of athletes to represent their country.

Last year Australia sent 11 representatives in Counter-Strike: Global Offensive, League of Legends and Hearthstone to the World Championship in Jakarta, Indonesia on the 6-9th of October.

The combined effort saw Australia place 9th in the world!

2016 National Representatives

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

  • Stuart ‘Sonic’ Rayner
  • Jesse ‘Infrequent’ Barker
  • John ‘Liazz’ Tregillgas
  • Travis ‘Wizard’ Richardson
  • Samuel ‘Jokes’ Molan

League of Legends

  • Vincent ‘gunkrab’ Lin
  • Luke ‘clown syndrome’ Duske
  • Paris ‘YAC SOULI’ Sitzoukis
  • Jonothan ‘bluz0r’ Cannon
  • Stewart ‘Flick’ Riesenweber


  • Kelson ‘MrLego’ Barber


Counter-Strike: Global Offensive

Saturday 12th & Sunday 13th August

The CSGO Qualifiers will take place in four stages.

  • Single Elimination Bracket
  • Groups (Top 8 Teams)
  • Semifinals (Top 4 Teams)
  • Grand Finals (Played in September)

League of Legends

Saturday 2nd & Sunday 3rd September

The LoL Qualifiers will take place in three stages.

  • Groups (Swiss Format)
  • Single Elimination Bracket
  • Grand Finals (Played in September)

Tekken 7

Saturday 5th – Sunday 19th August

The Tekken 7 Qualifiers will take place around Australia in two stages.

  • Western Australia (Perth) August 5th & 6th
  • Queensland (Brisbane) August 19th
  • New South Wales (Sydney) August 19th
  • Victoria (Melbourne) August 19th
  • Grand Finals (Sydney) September 8th (Top 4 Players)

Prizes & Opportunities

The top 11 players who qualify to represent Australia in either Counter-Strike: Global Offensive (5 players total), League of Legends (5 players total) or Tekken 7 (1 player total) will receive flights, accommodation and transfers to Busan, South Korea and the national team uniform to compete in the 2017 IESF World Championship, worth over $45,000.

Key Dates & Conditions of Entry

Key Dates

  • Registration Opens July 17th
  • Registration Closes for CS:GO on July 31st  and Closes for LoL on August 25th 
  • Online Matches Begin August 12th
  • Online Matches End September 3rd
  • Grand Finals September
  • World Championships – South Korea November 8 – 12th

Conditions of Entry

  • Entrants must be 15 years or older
  • Must be an Australian Citizen who is currently residing in Australia
  • Must have no flight restrictions within / outside of Australia
  • Own/obtain an Australian passport if selected to represent the nation

Australian Esports Association

This event is officially sanctioned by the Australian Esports Association and will operate in accordance to the values, policies and beliefs of the AESA. To ensure the integrity of the competition and promote a safe, fair and inclusive esports environment for all.

AESA Website